Simple, resistor based Dummy Load

Another afternoon project. Some time ago I was working on a 80 watts 12-to-36 Volts DC-DC boost converter.  Not one of my most successful projects but anyway.

_MG_0936

So I needed some kind of load but my home made constant current dummy load can only handle 20-something volts. A few 100 ohms 15 watt resistors were just what I needed. So I took 6 of them and made a simple, single-sided PCB that holds the resistors as well as 6 switches.

_MG_0937

The resistors are upright and have a bit of an air gap between them. That’s important, they get incredibly hot with 36 volts accross them. I know, I had to learn the hard way 😉

_MG_0938

Together with the aluminium front it has a nice weight for its size and with it’s silicone feet it sits firmly on the bench.

_MG_0939

Leave a Reply

